User Services Policy

Introduction

Qatar National Library strives to provide excellent user service at all times. Our educated and knowledgeable staff is ready to assist you in finding the materials and services you want and need. Excellence in user service also means that the staff will try to offer services in a fair manner that treats everyone with courtesy and respect, and asks for courtesy and respect in return. The User Services Policy is the foundation for all staff interactions with the public.

I. Purpose

The objective of this policy is to establish a clear overview of how the Library interacts with its users and the rights and responsibilities of users and staff.

II. Scope

This policy applies to all Library users and staff members.

III. Terms & Abbreviations 

User service: the act of taking care of the patron's needs by providing and delivering professional, helpful, high-quality service and assistance before, during and after the user's requirements are met

IV. Policy

  • Library staff should offer the same quality service to all users, regardless of age, race, gender, nationality, educational background, physical limitations or any other criteria which may be the source of discrimination.
  • Courtesy and attention to the needs of each Library user is the key to all interactions.
  • Library staff will treat every patron with equal respect, and every request with equal importance.
  • Staff will be flexible in meeting patrons’ needs. Whenever possible, decisions should be made in the patron’s favor.
  • Skilled Library staff will use their knowledge of the Library's resources to fulfill requests in a timely manner, or else present alternatives when requests cannot be met immediately.
  • Library policies and procedures exist to make resources available on an equitable basis. Staff members should be familiar with and be able to articulate the Library's policies and explain the rationale behind them. If a user has a question about why the Library has a policy or if the purpose of a policy is not understood, an explanation should be provided or the user should be referred to a supervisor.
  • The ultimate goal of library service is to meet patrons’ expectations for service while fulfilling the Library’s mission. Any comments are welcome regarding how well those expectations are being met.

Ethics

The Library staff recognizes patrons' right to confidentiality. As a result, staff will not reveal the identity of people using Library materials to a third party, nor will Library staff reveal the items checked out on another patron’s card.

All interactions and transactions between a patron or group of patrons and the Library will be considered confidential and will be discussed only in a professional context. Such matters include, but are not limited to, registration information, materials selection, loan transaction records and reference questions.

Staff members will not offer personal opinions or advice in answer to queries, but will always follow established library practices.

سياسة خدمات المستفيدين

تمهيد

تحرص مكتبة قطر الوطنية دائمًا أثناء تنفيذ رسالتها على تحقيق التميز في تقديم الخدمات للمستفيدين، ويتطلب ذلك إلمام الموظفين بالمعلومات والمعرفة التي تمكنهم من مساعدة روّاد المكتبة في العثور على المواد والخدمات التي يريدونها أو يحتاجونها. والتميز في خدمات المستفيدين يعني حرص الموظفين على تحقيق تكافؤ الفرص في تقديم الخدمات للجمهور في إطار من الاحترام المتبادل. وتعتبر سياسة خدمات المستفيدين هي الأساس لكل تعاملات الموظفين مع الجمهور.

 

أ.  الغرض من السياسة

تهدف هذه السياسة إلى تقديم لمحة واضحة حول منهج مكتبة قطر الوطنية في التعامل مع المستفيدين مع تسليط الضوء على حقوق ومسؤوليات كل من الموظفين والمستفيدين.

 

ب. نطاق التطبيق

تنطبق هذه السياسة على جميع الموظفين والمستفيدين.

 

ج. المصطلحات والاختصارات

خدمة المستفيدين: تعني الاهتمام بتلبية احتياجات روّاد المكتبة من خلال تقديم المساعدة والخدمات المفيدة عالية الجودة بشكل مهني واحترافي قبل تلبية متطلبات المستفيدين وأثناءها وبعدها.

 

د.  السياسة

  • يجب على موظفي المكتبة تقديم الخدمات إلى جميع الروّاد بنفس مستوى الجودة بغض النظر عن العمر أو العرق أو النوع أو الجنسية أو الخلفية التعليمية أو القيود البدنية/الإعاقة الجسدية أو أي معايير أخرى قد تكون مصدرًا للتمييز.
  • إظهار الحفاوة والاهتمام باحتياجات مستخدمي المكتبة هو الأساس في جميع التعاملات مع روّاد المكتبة.
  • يجب أن يعامل موظفو المكتبة جميع الروّاد بالقدر نفسه من الاحترام، ويولون أهمية متساوية لكل طلبات روّاد المكتبة وزائريها.
  • سيحاول الموظفون تلبية احتياجات روّاد المكتبة بأكبر قدر مستطاع. وحيثما أمكن، ينبغي أن تكون القرارات التي يتخذها الموظفون في صالح روّاد المكتبة.
  • يستخدم موظفو المكتبة المدربون معلوماتهم حول مصادر المكتبة في تلبية طلبات روّاد المكتبة في حينها أو تقديم بدائل عندما يتعذر تنفيذ الطلبات على الفور.
  • إن الهدف من سياسات المكتبة وإجراءاتها هو تحقيق التكافؤ والعدل في إتاحة مصادر المكتبة. ويجب على موظفي المكتبة الإلمام بسياسات المكتبة واستيعابها واكتساب القدرة على شرحها، وشرح مقاصدها والغرض منها. وإذا كان لدى أحد زوّار المكتبة سؤال أو استفسار حول الهدف من وجود سياسة في المكتبة، أو إذا كان الغرض من سياسة معينة غير واضح، يجب أن تكون لدى الموظفين القدرة على الإجابة على سؤاله أو إحالته إلى أحد المشرفين أو مدير المكتبة.
  • إن أقصى غاياتنا التي نسعى لتحقيقها عبر الخدمات التي نقدمها في المكتبة هو تلبية توقعات روّاد المكتبة مع النهوض برسالة المكتبة؛ لذا نحن نرحب بأي تعليقات حول مدى نجاحنا في تلبية هذه التوقعات.

 

أخلاقيات المهنة

يجب أن يحترم موظفو المكتبة حقوق الروّاد في الخصوصية. وبناءً عليه، يجب ألا يكشف الموظفون عن هوية الذين يستخدمون مواد المكتبة لأطراف أو جهات خارجية، كما لا يكشف الموظفون عن المواد التي استعارها عضو المكتبة باستخدام بطاقة عضو آخر في المكتبة. 

كل التعاملات بين عضو المكتبة أو مجموعة أعضاء المكتبة من جانب والمكتبة من جانب آخر تعتبر سرية، ولا يُصرَّح بها أو تناقش إلا في إطار مهني (على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، معلومات التسجيل، واختيار المواد، وسجلات عمليات الاستعارة، والأسئلة المرجعية، وغير ذلك).

يجب ألا يقدم موظفو المكتبة آراءً أو نصائح أو مشورة شخصية عند الإجابة على استفسارات الروّاد، بل يجب أن يتبعوا دومًا الممارسات المعمول بها في المكتبات.