Digitization Services

In line with the Qatar National Library’s (QNL) mission to spread knowledge and preserve the nation’s heritage for the future generations, QNL has built fully equipped facilities with the proper infrastructure that can take on any kind of digitization project to provide quality digitization and plan for access, research, and preservation.

QNL’s digitization center aims to make the unique items of its Heritage Library available for all through the online digital portal, Qatar Digital Library. Digitized materials include rare books, photographs, maps, manuscripts, and more.

digitization equipment

 

Objectives

A major strategic objective of Qatar National Library (QNL) is to digitally preserve rare and invaluable Arab and Islamic heritage materials to increase Arabic content online in alignment with both the Qatar National Vision 2030 and the Qatar National Development Strategy (2011-2016), which work for the long term preservation of Qatar's culture.

To achieve this objective, QNL setup a state of the art digitization center to digitize content of all formats that are related to the Arab and Islamic heritage and make them available to everyone around the world free of charge as per international preservation Guidelines/Standards for long-term preservation. Being the National Digitization Centre, QNL is following the Qatar’s Media, Culture and Heritage National Digitization Plan developed by the former Ministry of Information and Communication Technology.

The Digitization Center at Qatar National Library has defined the following objectives for digitizing the Heritage Library's collections:

  • Increase access to the Library’s collections, including unique and rare materials that meet research and educational needs
  • Provide access to materials that can no longer be accessed due to format obsolescence
  • Encourage the creation of Arabic digital-born content
  • Protect original materials by reducing frequent handling during reference use, and Maintain long-term preservation of Qatar’s culture and heritage

Global Best Practices

The Digitization Center is designed in compliance with the International Digitization, Imaging and Graphic Processing Standards concerning temperature, lighting, vibration, humidity, alignment, spacing, and others technical requirements for graphics and digitization environments.

Best practices followed by the Center include:

  • IFLA Guidelines for Digitization Projects
  • Metamorfoze Preservation Imaging Guidelines
  • ISO-3664 – viewing conditions for graphics technology and photography
  • ISO-12646 – graphic technology, displays for color proofing, characteristics and viewing conditions
  • FADGI – Technical Guidelines for Digitizing Cultural Heritage Materials
  • FADGI – Audio-Visual Working Group

The Center is also equipped with cutting-edge technology and software including:

  • ICC Color-managed workflow to ensure color accuracy
  • Lab and studio facilities with high-end digitization, scanning and photography equipment
  • Advanced image enhancement software tools
  • Text recognition for both Arabic and Latin text using Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technologies that enrich the digitized images by adding a content-search feature and allow the user to discover beyond the scanned images. Using Image on Text technique, the user will be able to access the highest possible image resolution and to search text inside it.
  • Cutting-edge imaging and lighting equipment for 3D imaging, allowing researchers to view objects in minute detail.

Digitization Services

In addition to the digitization of QNL’s Heritage Library collections, the Digitization Center provides custom digitization projects for governmental institutions, private entities, and the local community. The center offers the ability to digitize books, magazines, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, documents, artifacts (3D photography), photography collections (slides, negatives, and glass plates), and audiovisual collections.

The following services are available at the Digitization Center:

Bulk Digitization, Large Format Scanning, and Image Stitching

Digitization of massive collections, including documents in large formats.

Digitization Assessment

Evaluation of original materials, and the application of suitable image-capturing techniques.

On-Site Digitization

On-site digitization of rare and fragile materials, using a Traveler Copy Stand and special handler with integrated book cradle and lighting.

Digital Image Enhancement

Improvement of the quality of digital images to meet QNL’s digitization standard requirements for image enhancement.

Optical Character Recognition (OCR)

Optical Character Recognition for historical and modern texts in Arabic and Latin collections, which enables full content search by users. OCR is the process of converting the bitmap of a scanned page containing text-to-text codes (ASCII) in order to create a searchable digital book. QNL reaches 99 percent accuracy for Arabic content and applies text enhancement and font classification.

3D Photography

3D photography in the digitization studio, providing a rich experience to viewers by delivering a high standard of virtual object viewing.

Digitization Projects

QF/CMU Digitization Project

Qatar Foundation initiated and completed a pilot digitization project with Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar from August 2008 to July 2009 to digitize rare items in the Heritage Library. The project digitized over one million pages of books, manuscripts, newspapers, magazines, and maps about Qatar and the Arab and Islamic region.

QNL's Heritage Library Collections

QNL’s Heritage Library Collections contain many remarkable items in various formats including manuscripts, rare books, periodicals, journals, magazines, newspapers, photographs, posters, maps, globes, a selection of early photography, and instruments and tools related to travel. The Heritage Library has an ongoing project to digitize all the materials not protected by copyright, and publish on the QNL website. The Center has so far digitized nearly two million pages from the Heritage Library Collections.

Al-Shaqab Horses Collection

QNL received a large collection of Arabian horse-related imagery that originated with Mrs. Judith Forbis, owner of the Ansata Arabian Stud Farm in Arkansas, USA. The collection consists of photographs compiled in albums and in plastic folders, as well as a collection of negatives, totaling nearly 40,000 items.

Museum of Islamic Art Library Collection

QNL has signed a memorandum of understanding with the Museum of Islamic Art (MIA) to collaborate on various initiatives, including a project that involves the digitizing of 55 items from among the rarest books and manuscripts at the museum.

Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum

QNL has signed a memorandum of understanding with Sheikh Faisal bin Qassim Museum to collaborate in various aspects, including a pilot project to digitize a number of the museum’s manuscripts.

The Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic Language

QNL signed a memorandum of understanding with ‘The Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic’ project, which includes a digitization project focused on providing support in the area of optical recognition of Arabic characters. This will help researchers working on the etymology and meaning of Arabic words.

Qatar Music Academy

QNL is collaborating with Qatar Music Academy to archive folk musical instruments.

Ottoman Archive Project
QNL acquired heritage documents related to the Gulf region from the Ottoman Archive. These documents have been processed, translated and cataloged, to be made available on the library’s online platforms. 

Qatar Traditional Architecture Photographic Collection

QNL has acquired 914 photographs that were taken by Vincent Aitzegagh as part of a French archeological expedition to Qatar in 1985. The mission was undertaken by French archeologist Claire Hardy-Guilbert, architect Vincent Defert and professional photographer Vincent Aitzegagh. Resulting from a cooperation between the Ministry of Transport and Communications and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the mission was appointed to produce a comprehensive record of traditional nineteenth-century architecture including houses, mosques, warehouses, and forts.

QNL Digital Repository

The QNL Digital Repository is a homogenous ecosystem that acts as the home of all digitized and digital material produced by QNL and its partners. Its infrastructure is designed to conform to the OAIS Reference Model, and targets three major functions:

  • Long-term preservation environment, independent of media type and storage medium
  • One-stop platform to integrate, link and enrich the content
  • User abstracted layout, equipping the end user with all the tools required to utilize and access the saved information

The Digital Repository offers millions of pages and items that are available to check, read, share, annotate, download and print. The repository presents each object with descriptive, technical and textual information that is easy to retrieve for the user.

Materials including ancient manuscripts and maps, original copies of Arabian Nights, newspapers, modern website archives, and research datasets are all one click away at http://ediscovery.qnl.qa

Contact Us

 For more information or if you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at ([email protected]).

خدمات الرقمنة

اتساقاً مع رسالة مكتبة قطر الوطنية الساعية إلى نشر المعرفة والحفاظ على تراث الأمة لأجيال المستقبل، أنشأت مكتبة قطر الوطنية مرافق متخصصة مجهزة ببنية تحتية متقدمة يمكنها تنفيذ أي مشروع لرقمنة الوثائق والمخطوطات وتوفير خدمات الرقمنة عالية الجودة وتوفير الخطط اللازمة للمحافظة على التراث وإتاحته للاستخدام والاطلاع وإجراء البحوث.

ويسعى مركز الرقمنة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية إلى إتاحة المواد الفريدة في المجموعة التراثية التابعة للمكتبة للجمهور من خلال مكتبة قطر الرقمية. وتشمل المواد المُرقمنة الكتب النادرة والصور الفوتوغرافية القديمة والخرائط التاريخية والمخطوطات، وغير ذلك الكثير.

digitization equipment

 

أهدافنا

من الأهداف الاستراتيجية الأساسية لمكتبة قطر الوطنية الحفاظ على المخطوطات والوثائق التاريخية النادرة الخاصة بالتراث العربي والإسلامي من خلال تحويلها إلى نسخة رقمية وذلك بهدف زيادة المحتوى العربي على شبكة الإنترنت اتساقاً مع رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 واستراتيجية قطر الوطنية للتنمية (2011-2016) التي تسعى إلى الحفاظ على الثقافة القطرية على المدى الطويل.

ولتحقيق هذا الهدف، أنشأت مكتبة قطر الوطنية معملاً للرقمنة مزوداً بأحدث التقنيات والتكنولوجيا لرقمنة المواد المرتبطة بالتراث العربي والإسلامي بجميع أشكالها وإتاحتها للمستخدمين في كل أنحاء العالم بدون مقابل ووفقاً للمعايير/الإرشادات الدولية الخاصة بصيانة المواد التراثية والحفاظ عليها على المدى الطويل. وتتَّبِع مكتبة قطر الوطنية، باعتبارها المركز الوطني للرقمنة في هذا المجال، خطة رقمنة المواد الإعلامية والثقافية والتراثية لدولة قطر التي وضعتها وزارة المواصلات والاتصالات [وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات سابقاً].


وقد حدد مركز الرقمنة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية الأهداف التالية لرقمنة المجموعات التراثية في المكتبة:

  • إتاحة مجموعات المكتبة بشكل أوسع، بما في ذلك المواد النادرة والفريدة التي تُلبي الاحتياجات التعليمية والبحثية؛
  • الإتاحة الرقمية للمواد التي يصعب الاطلاع عليها بسبب وضعها الهش أو القديم؛
  • تشجيع انشاء المحتوى العربي المُخَلَّق بصيغة رقمية
  • حماية المواد الأصلية من خلال تقليل الإمساك المتكرر بها خلال الاستخدام المرجعي لها؛
  • الحفاظ على التراث والثقافة في دولة قطر وصيانتهما على المدى البعيد.

أفضل الممارسات الدولية

صُمِّم مركز الرقمنة بما يتوافق مع المعايير الدولية للرقمنة والتصوير ومعالجة الصور فيما يتعلق بدرجة الحرارة والإضاءة والاهتزاز والرطوبة والمحاذاة والمسافات، وغير ذلك من المواصفات والشروط الفنية التي تطبقها كبرى استوديوهات الرقمنة في العالم.

يطبق المركز المعايير الدولية التالية:

  • إرشادات الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات ومؤسسات المكتبات (إفلا) لمشروعات الرقمنة
  • إرشادات برنامج "ميتامورفوز" (Metamorfoze) للتصوير الحفظي
  • معيار الآيزو رقم 3664 الخاص بظروف عرض الصور المستخدمة في تكنولوجيا الرسم الجرافيكي والتصوير الفتوتوغرافي
  • معيار الآيزو رقم 12646 الخاص بتكنولوجيا الرسم الجرافيكي، والشاشات المستخدمة لتصحيح الألوان، ومواصفات عرض الصور وشروطه
  • المعايير التقنية التابعة لمبادرة الوكالات الفيدرالية لإرشادات الرقمنة (FADGIفيما يتعلق برقمنة مواد التراث الثقافي
  • معايير مجموعة عمل الوسائط السمعية البصرية التابعة لمبادرة الوكالات الفيدرالية لإرشادات الرقمنة (FADGI)

المركز مجهز أيضًا بمجموعة من أحدث البرمجيات والتقنيات التي تشمل:

  • ضبط الألوان في جميع مراحل سير العمل للحصول علي أعلي دقة للألوان
  • مختبر واستوديو يحتويان على آلات ومعدات حديثة ومتطورة للرقمنة والمسح الضوئي والتصوير الفوتوغرافي
  • أدوات وبرامج متقدمة لتحسين الصور وتعزيز جودتها
  • التعرف على النصوص اللاتينية والعربية من خلال تقنية "التمييز الضوئي للحروف (OCR)" التي تُثري المواد المُرقمنة من خلال إضافة خاصية قابلية البحث في نصوصها، فمن خلال تقنية "النص فوق الصورة" (Image on Text Technique)، يحصل المستخدم على أعلى دقة ممكنة للصورة مع قابلية البحث في النص الذي تحتويه.
  • معدات تصوير وإضاءة فائقة التطور لإنشاء الصور ثلاثية الأبعاد التي تتيح للباحثين الاطلاع على التفاصيل الدقيقة للعناصر والمواد المرقمنة باستخدام هذه التقنية.

 

خدمات الرقمنة

بالإضافة إلى رقمنة مواد المكتبة التراثية بمكتبة قطر الوطنية، يُقدم المركز مشاريع الرقمنة المخصصة للمؤسسات الحكومية والمجتمع المحلي والمؤسسات والمنظمات الخاصة. ويُوفر المركز خدمات وحلول رقمنة الكتب والمجلات والمخطوطات والصحف والخرائط والوثائق ومقتنيات المتاحف (من الصور ثلاثية الأبعاد) ومجموعات الصور الفوتوغرافية المطبوعة على خامات مختلفة ( مثل الشرائح، ونيجاتيف الأفلام، والألواح الزجاجية)، ومجموعات الوسائط السمعية البصرية.

ويقدم مركز الرقمنة الخدمات التالية:

مشاريع الرقمنة الضخمة، والمسح الضوئي للمقاسات الكبيرة، وتجميع الصور في صورة واحدة شاملة

هي عبارة عن خدمة رقمنة المجموعات الضخمة بما في ذلك الوثائق والمستندات ذات الأحجام والمقاسات الكبيرة.

تقييم الرقمنة

تقييم المواد الأصلية، وتطبيق التقنيات الملائمة لالتقاط الصور.

الرقمنة داخل المؤسسة التي تطلب الخدمة

يقدم المركز خدمة "الرقمنة داخل المؤسسة التي تطلب الخدمة" في حالة رقمنة المواد النادرة والهشة، حيث تمتلك مكتبة قطر الوطنية حاملًا خاصًا للمواد التي يتم رقمنتها وهو مَسنَد للكُتب مزود بالإضاءة اللازمة.

معالجة الصور الرقمية

تحسين جودة الصور الرقمية بما يتماشى مع متطلبات معايير الرقمنة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية من أجل تعزيز جودة الصور ووضوحها.

التمييز الضوئي للحروف 

التمييز الضوئي لحروف النصوص التاريخية والحديثة في المجموعات والمخطوطات باللغة العربية واللاتينية ما يتيح للمستخدمين البحث في المحتوى بالكامل. وتكنولوجيا التمييز الضوئي للحروف (OCR) هي عبارة عن عملية تحويل الخريطة النقطية لصفحة ممسوحة ضوئيًا تحتوي على نصوص إلى رموز نصية (بمعيار ASCII) لإنشاء كتاب أو محتوى رقمي يسهل البحث في نصوصه. وتحقق مكتبة قطر الوطنية دقة في التعرّف على النصوص العربية تصل إلى 99 في المائة، وتطبق كذلك أدوات لتحسين جودة النصوص ودقتها وتصنيف أنواع الخطوط المستخدمة.

التصوير الفوتوغرافي ثلاثي الأبعاد

يتيح التصوير الفوتوغرافي ثلاثي الأبعاد في استوديو الرقمنة تجربة ملهمة للمشاهدين من خلال مشاهدة صورة افتراضية للأشياء بوضوح فائق.

مشاريع الرقمنة

مشروع مؤسسة قطر/جامعة كارنيجي ميلون للرقمنة

بدأت مؤسسة قطر مشروعًا تجريبيًا للرقمنة بالتعاون مع جامعة كارنيجي ميلون في أغسطس 2008 واكتمل في يوليو 2009 لرقمنة المواد النادرة في المكتبة التراثية. وخلال هذا المشروع تمّت رقمنة أكثر من مليون صفحة من الكتب والمخطوطات والصحف والمجلات والخرائط ذات الصلة بدولة قطر والمنطقة العربية والإسلامية.

محتويات المكتبة التراثية بمكتبة قطر الوطنية

تحتوي المكتبة التراثية بمكتبة قطر الوطنية على العديد من المواد القيِّمة من مختلف الأشكال والأنواع، وتشمل المخطوطات والكتب النادرة والدوريات والمجلات والصحف والصور الفوتوغرافية والملصقات والخرائط ومجسمات الكرة الأرضية، وأدوات السفر والملاحة البحرية ومجموعة من الصور الفوتوغرافية القديمة التي تعود إلى بداية ظهور كاميرات التصوير.

وتُعتبر عملية رقمنة مواد المكتبة التراثية مشروعًا مستمرًا لمركز الرقمنة يهدف إلى رقمنة كل المواد غير الخاضعة لحقوق الطبع والنشر ثم نشرها عبر موقع مكتبة قطر الوطنية على الإنترنت. وقد انتهى المركز في الوقت الحالي من رقمنة نحو مليوني صفحة من مواد المكتبة التراثية. 

مجموعة خيول الشقب

 حصلت مكتبة قطر الوطنية على مجموعة كبيرة من نيجاتيف الأفلام والصور الفوتوغرافية للخيول العربية من تجميع السيدة جوديث فوربيس، مالكة مزرعة أنساتا للخيول العربية في أركانسا بالولايات المتحدة الأميركية. وتتضمن المجموعة صورًا فوتوغرافية تم تجميعها في ألبومات وفي حافظات بلاستيكية، وكذلك مجموعة من نيجاتيف الأفلام الفوتوغرافية. وفي المجمل، تضم المجموعة 40 ألف صورة تقريبًا.

مجموعة مكتبة متحف الفن الإسلامي

وقَّعت مكتبة قطر الوطنية مذكرة تفاهم مع متحف الفن الإسلامي للتعاون المشترك في عدد من المبادرات المختلفة بما في ذلك مشروع لرقمنة 55 مادة من أندر الكتب والمخطوطات في المتحف.

متحف الشيخ فيصل بن قاسم آل ثاني

وقَّعت مكتبة قطر الوطنية مذكرة تفاهم مع متحف الشيخ فيصل بن قاسم لعقد أوجه مختلفة من التعاون المشترك منها مشروع تجريبي لرقمنة عدد من المخطوطات في المتحف.

مشروع معجم الدوحة التاريخي للغة العربية 

وقَّعت مكتبة قطر الوطنية مذكرة تفاهم مع مشروع "معجم الدوحة التاريخي للغة العربية" لعقد أوجه مختلفة من التعاون المشترك منها مشروع للرقمنة يهدف لتقديم الدعم بشكل خاص في مجال التمييز الضوئي للحروف العربية الذي من شأنه مساعدة الباحثين العاملين في مجال أصول الكلمات العربية ومعانيها.

مشروع أكاديمية قطر للموسيقي

تتعاون مكتبة قطر الوطنية مع أكاديمية قطر للموسيقي في مشروع أرشفة الآلات الموسيقية الشعبية. 

مشروع وثائق الأرشيف العثماني

تمكّنت مكتبة قطر الوطنية من الحصول على مجموعة من الوثائق التراثية من الأرشيف العثماني ذات الصلة بمنطقة الخليج العربي وقد عكفت المكتبة على معالجة تلك الوثائق وترجمتها وفهرستها ليجري نشرها على المنصات الإلكترونية للمكتبة.  

مجموعة الصور الفوتوغرافية للعمارة التقليدية في دولة قطر

تمكّنت مكتبة قطر الوطنية من الحصول على 914 صورة فوتوغرافية التقطها المصور الفوتوغرافي المحترف فينسنت آيتزيغاه في إطار البعثة الأثرية الفرنسية لدولة قطر عام 1985. وهي بعثة قادها عالم الآثار الفرنسي كلير هاردي جيبلرت، والمعماري فينسنت ديفيرت بالإضافة إلى فينسنت آيتزيغاه. وكان الهدف من هذه البعثة، التي كانت ثمرة تعاون بين وزارة الاتصالات والمواصلات ووزارة الخارجية الفرنسية، هو إنتاج سجل توثيقي شامل للعمارة التقليدية في القرن التاسع عشر بدولة قطر يشمل المنازل والمساجد والمخازن والمتاجر والقلاع والحصون.

المستودع الرقمي لمكتبة قطر الوطنية

يُشكّل المستودع الرقمي لمكتبة قطر الوطنية منظومة متكاملة ومتجانسة تحتوي على كل المواد الرقمية والمُرقمنة التي أنتجتها مكتبة قطر الوطنية وشركاؤها. صُمِّمت بنية هذا المستودع وفقًا للنموذج المرجعي لنظام المعلومات الأرشيفية المفتوح (OAIS) بما يحقق ثلاث وظائف رئيسية هي:

  • توفير بيئة منفصلة عن نوع الوسائط ووسيط التخزين لأغراض الحفظ على المدى الطويل
  • منصة شاملة لربط المحتوى ودمجه وإثرائه
  • تصميم يتوافق مع احتياجات المستخدمين ويوفر لهم كل الأدوات المطلوبة لاستخدام المعلومات المحفوظة والاطلاع عليها

ويحتوي المستودع الرقمي على ملايين الصفحات والمواد المتاحة للمطالعة والقراءة والمشاركة والفهرسة والتنزيل والطباعة. وكل مادة رقمية في المستودع مصحوبة بمعلومات وصفية سهلة الاسترجاع حول المادة ومواصفاتها التقنية ومحتواها النصي.

بفضل المستودع الرقمي لمكتبة قطر الوطنية، أصبحت مواد مثل المخطوطات والخرائط القديمة والنسخ الأصلية من مجموعة ألف ليلة وليلة وأرشيفات الصحف العربية ومواقع الويب الحديثة ومجموعات بيانات الأبحاث متاحة بضغطة واحدة على الرابط التالي: http://ediscovery.qnl.qa

تواصل معنا

لمزيد من المعلومات وتلقي استفساراتكم، نرحب بتواصلكم معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني ([email protected]).