Discover Qatar

New residents and visitors can discover the country through this guide, which provides fundamental information about life in Qatar.

 

Key Information

Country Profile

Qatar is the world's biggest exporter of liquefied natural gas. Its total land area is approximately 11,521 square kilometers with 563 km of uninterrupted coastline, extending northwards into the Arabian Gulf. The country’s total population as of March 2017 stands at 2.3 million, most of whom live in the capital city of Doha. In 2010, Qatar was awarded the right to host FIFA World Football Cup 2022. 

Time

Local time is GMT/UCT + 3 hours. There are no daylight savings adjustments.

Climate

Qatar has a desert climate with year-round sunshine, hot summers and mild winters. Mean monthly temperatures range from 17°C in January to 36°C in July, sometimes reaching highs of 40°C+ during the summer. Rain is infrequent, falling in brief showers mainly in winter.

Business Hours

The work week is from Sunday to Thursday, with most offices closed on Friday and Saturday. Government offices working hours are from 07:00 to 14:00.

Public Holidays

  • National Sport Day: Second Tuesday in February.
  • Eid Al Fitr: Varies with lunar calendar.
  • Eid Al Adha: Varies with lunar calendar.
  • Qatar National Day: December 18.

Money

The monetary unit of Qatar is the riyal (abbreviated to QR or QAR). The exchange rate is fixed at US $1 = QR3.64. ATMs can be found in many locations, mall, markets, hospitals, government and touristic buildings. Most shops and restaurants accept major credit cards.

Renting Property in Qatar                                                         

 

Visa and Immigration

Immigration Procedures

The standard immigration procedure for obtaining a residence permit includes a medical check (blood test for HIV and TB and chest x-ray) and fingerprinting. Once medical results are published online, fingerprints must be taken by the Criminal Evidence and Investigation Department (CEID). It usually takes about 2-6 weeks to get an RP and applicants cannot leave Qatar before then. For more information, see the website of the Ministry of Interior.

Family Visas

Families can come to Qatar for a visit on a short-term Family Visit Visa that is valid for one month. This visa can be extended to a maximum of six months for immediate family members. Family members who wish to stay longer than one month have to undergo a medical examination within 72 hours of arriving in Qatar, while other relatives can extend their stay to a total of three months. For more information, see the website of the Ministry of Interior.

e-Government services (traffic, immigration etc.)

 

Education

Schools

Schools in Qatar follow a wide spectrum of curricula such as American, British, French, German, Finnish, Indian, Lebanese and Egyptian. High demand among nationals and expat families can result in waiting lists for securing a school place. Most public schools have separate schools for boys and girls, whereas private and international schools are normally co-ed. The majority of schools use English as their medium of instruction.

Useful Websites

Learning Arabic and other languages

Community Courses

 

Transportation

Although transportation in Qatar largely depends on driving your own car, you are not short of other transportation options. There are a lot of public and private taxis brands down the street, and you can use commercial mobile apps to hire a limosine car that comes to your place anywhere in Qatar. 

Driving and vehicle maintenance

Buying a Car

  • Franchise car companies and dealers in Doha
  • Qatar Sale

Hiring Taxis

You can hire Mowasalat Karwa taxi service by contacting booking line: (+974) 4458 8888 or downloading their App for Android and iPhone mobile devices. You can also hire Mowasalat buses by contacting (+974) 44588869.

Accessibility

  • Accessible Qatar: An App showing the public and touristic locations and outlets in Qatar that are accessible to people with physical disability and in what way.

Hospitals

 

Expats can choose between public and private healthcare. Qatar has many private and public facilities offering a full scope of medical services. A Health Card issued from Hamad Medical Corporation entitles to receive low cost treatment at well-equipped government health facilities, including the Cuban Hospital. More information about the Health Card can be found on the website of the Hamad Medical Corporation.

Major private hospitals include Al Ahli Hospital, Doha Clinic Hospital, American Hospital Doha, and Turkish Hospital Doha. 

The Sidra Medical and Research Center Offers outpatient clinical services for women and children, as referrals only by one of the primary health care centers. For more information on the available clinics and services, please visit Sidra website. 

Tourism, Culture and Social Life

Tourist Buses

Doha Bus: Shuttle between the Museum of Islamic Art and Mathaf and Arab Museum of Modern Art 

  • Sunday to Wednesday from 11 am to 5 pm
  • Friday 3 pm to 8 pm.

Meetup Groups

Local Culture

Music

Movies

استكشف قطر

أعدت مكتبة قطر الوطنية هذا الدليل المختصر ليزود الوافدين أو الزائرين الجدد بالمعلومات الأساسية التي يحتاجون إليها خلال فترة إقامتهم في دولة قطر.

 

معلومات أساسية

حول دولة قطر

من أكبر الدول المنتجة للغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم، وهي شبه جزيرة تبلغ مساحتها حوالي 11521 كيلومتر مربع تمتد باتجاه الشمال في الخليج العربي. ولديها ساحل متصل ممتد على مساحة 563 كيلومتر. وبلغ عدد سكانها في مارس 2017 حوالي 2.3 مليون نسمة، يعيش أغلبهم في العاصمة الدوحة. وفي عام 2010 فازت دولة قطر بحق تنظيم بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم 2022.

التوقيت

التوقيت المحلي يسبق توقيت غرينتش بـ 3 ساعات. ولا يوجد تغيير بين التوقيت الشتوي والصيفي.

المناخ

تتميز قطر بمناخها الصحراوي، فصيفها حار وشتاؤها معتدل. يتراوح معدل درجة الحرارة الشهرية من 17 درجة مئوية في شهر يناير إلى 36 درجة مئوية في يوليو، كما تصل أحيانا إلى أكثر من 40 درجة مئوية خلال أشهر الصيف. تتساقط الأمطار بشكل متقطع ولفترات قصيرة خلال فصل الشتاء.

ساعات العمل

أيام العمل الأسبوعية هي من يوم الأحد حتى يوم الخميس، وتغلق معظم المكاتب والشركات أبوابها أيام الجمعة والسبت. وساعات العمل في المكاتب الحكومية من الساعة 7:00 صباحاً إلى 02:00 ظهراً.

العطلات الرسمية

  • اليوم الرياضي للدولة: ثاني يوم ثلاثاء من شهر فبراير.
  • عيد الفطر: (يختلف تاريخه وفقاً للتقويم الهجري).
  • عيد الأضحى: (يختلف تاريخه وفقاً للتقويم الهجري).
  • اليوم الوطني للدولة: 18 ديسمبر.

العُملة

العملة النقدية في قطر هي الريال القطري، ويُشار إليه في البنوك والأسواق المالية  (QAR). سعر الصرف الأجنبي ثابت ومستقر، ويدور حول 3.64 ريال قطري للدولار الأمريكي. وتنتشر أجهزة الصرف الآلي في العديد من المجمعات التجارية والمستشفيات ومختلف المرافق الحكومية والسياحية، وتتعامل معظم المراكز التجارية والمطاعم ببطاقات الائتمان الرئيسية.

استئجار العقارات في قطر

خدمات الفيزا والإقامة

إجراءات الهجرة والجوازات

تتضمن إجراءات الحصول على الإقامة القطرية إجراء الفحص الطبي الذي يتضمن (فحص فيروس نقص المناعة المكتسبة، والسُل، وصورة للصدر بالأشعة السينية)، وأخذ البصمات الذي تقوم به إدارة الأدلة والبحث الجنائي، وذلك بعد صدور نتائج الفحص الطبي والتي يمكن متابعتها عبر الإنترنت. ويستغرق الحصول على تصريح الإقامة حوالي 2-6 أسابيع ولا يمكن خلال هذه الفترة مغادرة قطر. لمزيد من المعلومات تفضل بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني لوزارة الداخلية.

تأشيرة الزيارة للعائلة

يمكن إصدار تأشيرة زيارة عائلية قصيرة الأجل لمدة شهر واحد، ويجوز تمديدها إلى 6 أشهر كحد أقصى لأفراد العائلة من الدرجة الأولى. وفي حال رغب أفراد العائلة البقاء لأكثر من شهر، يجب عليهم القيام بإجراء الفحوص الطبية المقررة خلال الأيام الثلاثة الأولى من وصولهم إلى قطر. ويستطيع أفراد العائلة من الدرجة الثانية الحصول على تأشيرة الزيارة العائلية، التي تمكنهم من الإقامة لغاية ثلاثة أشهر كأقصى حد. لمزيد من المعلومات تفضل بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني لوزارة الداخلية.

الخدمات الحكومية الإلكترونية (المرور، الهجرة، وغيرها)

 

التعليم في قطر

المدارس

يتوفر في قطر عدد كبير من المدارس الخاصة والدولية التي تعتمد مناهج متعددة منها المنهج الأمريكي، والبريطاني، والفرنسي، والألماني، والفنلندي، والهندي، واللبناني، والمصري. ويعد الحصول على مقعد دراسي من الأمور الصعبة نتيجة لأعداد الطلاب المتزايدة، وفي أغلب الأحيان يتم قبول الطلاب في قوائم الانتظار. وتفصل المدارس المستقلة بين البنين والبنات ابتداءً من المرحلة الابتدائية إلا أن المدارس الخاصة والدولية هي بمعظمها مختلطة. وتعتمد غالبية المدارس اللغة الإنجليزية في التعليم.

تعلم اللغة العربية وغيرها من اللغات

المحاضرات التعليمية للمجتمع

 

المواصلات في قطر

مع أن المواصلات في قطر تعتمد إلى حد كبير على قيادة سيارتك الخاصة، هناك العديد من خيارات المواصلات الأخرى مثل سيارات الأجرة العامة والخاصة، كما يمكنك استخدام تطبيقات جوالة لحجز سيارات الليموزين التي تأتي إليك في أي مكان في قطر.

قيادة المركبات وصيانتها

شراء سيارة

سيارات الأجرة والحافلات

يمكن استئجار سيارات الأجرة العادية التابعة لشركة "كروة" من خلال الاتصال على الرقم: 97444588888+ أو تنزيل تطبيق الشركة للأـجهزة المحمولة التي تعمل بنظام أندرويد أو آيفون. يمكنك أيضًا استئجار الحافلات من خلال الاتصال برقم: 97444588869+

تسهيل الحركة لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

تطبيق ”قطر متيسرة للجميع“ يسلط الضوء على وسائل تسهيل دخول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة إلى مختلف الأماكن العامة في أنحاء دولة قطر.

المستشفيات في قطر

يوجد في قطر العديد من مؤسسات الرعاية الصحية والمستشفيات والمراكز التي تغطي كافة الاحتياجات الطبية، وتتوزع بين القطاعين العام والخاص. وللحصول على خدمات صحية من القطاع العام، ينبغي عليك الحصول على بطاقة صحية من مؤسسة حمد الطبيّة لتتمتع بالخدمات الصحية في المستشفيات والعيادات التي تتبع المؤسسة، ومنها المستشفى الكوبي. وتقدم مؤسسة حمد الطبية هذه الخدمات بتكلفة مناسبة. لمعرفة المزيد عن إصدار البطاقة الصحية، يرجى زيارة موقع مؤسسة حمد الطبيّة.

كما تقدم العيادات الخارجية التابعة لمركز السدرة للطب والبحوث مجموعة من الخدمات الطبية للنساء والأطفال بناءً على الإحالة فقط من أحد مراكز الصحة الأولية. للمزيد من التفاصيل عن الخدمات المقدمة في مركز السدرة، يُرجى زيارة موقعها الإلكتروني

ومن أشهر المستشفيات الخاصة في قطر المستشفى الأهلي، ومستشفى العمادي، ومستشفى عيادة الدوحة، والمستشفى الأمريكي، والمستشفى التركي في قطر.

الأنشطة السياحية والثقافية والاجتماعية

الحافلات السياحية  

حافلة الدوحة السياحية: مواعيد الحافلة بين متحف الفن الإسلامي والمتحف العربي للفن الحديث:

  • من الأحد حتى الأربعاء من 11 صباحاً وحتى 5 مساءً
  • يوم الجمعة من 3 عصراً وحتى 8 مساءً

ملتقيات

الثقافة المحلية

الموسيقى

أوركسترا قطر الفلهارمونية

الأفلام